Seared Sirloin with Sweet Balsamic Sauce

The hubs made dinner the other night. He is such a sweet guy… he barely even complains. ;)

I wasn’t as impressed with this meal because I am not a fan of tough meat and I feel like I was constantly chewing and chewing and chewing. He, of course, ate it like candy. But it was good and I really liked the balsamic sauce.

I steamed some cauliflower and had a piece of  a whole wheat baguette.  It looks big, but it wasn’t… I use small plates now so that I don’t overeat. But I could treat myself to some bread because the entire sirloin&sauce recipe was 4 grams of carbs total. And I can eat 60 carbs at each meal! I think I did good. :)

I got this recipe out of my new cookbook I got from Borders before it went out of business. (I ended up paying like $4.50 for it! That is a STEAL and I am so happy.) The title is 15-Minute Diabetic Meals. Check it out!

 

SEARED SIRLOIN WITH SWEET BALSAMIC SAUCE
1 lb boneless sirloin steak, about 1 inch thick, trimmed of fat

1/4 cup water
1 tbsp light soy sauce
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp sugar

1. Place a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat until hot. Add beef and cook 4 minutes. Turn and cook 4 minutes longer or until beef is done to your liking.

2. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine remaining ingredients. Stir to blend and set aside.

3. When beef is done, place on cutting board and let stand. Add sauce mixture to pan residue in skillet. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat and cook 1-2 minutes, scraping bottom and sides of skillet.

4. Thinly slice beef and spoon sauce over all.

Leave a comment