Stuffed Peppers

I made Stuffed Peppers for dinner last night. It was my first time making them and I thought they turned out really good!

I was so excited because this was one of my favorite meals as a kid. My mom made the absolute BEST stuffed peppers and I wish I knew what recipe she based them off of, so that I could try.

I used to just eat the rice mixture by the spoonful.

(and I wonder why I’m diabetic…. sigh)

My mom never used recipes. Everytime she would cook something, she would guesstimate a tablespoon by a pinch, or assume a plop of that was a cup. We technically never had the same meal twice. Remembering how she used to cook and thinking about how I cook makes me laugh out loud. I am SO strict with my recipes. I would rather dirty every possible measuring device in my kitchen before guessing at anything. I’m sure once I’ve cooked for a family for 20 years, I might change my habits, but for now… my mom and I could not be any less alike. I just wish she was here to see me cook… I think she’d be proud of me.

Seriously, before getting married the extent of my cooking was making a grilled cheese sandwich.

I also thought it was “girlled cheese” until I was about 8. Like boys couldn’t eat it. I was very feminist back then.

But these stuffed peppers were good in their own way. Simple ingredients made it easy, healthy ingredients made it…. healthy! The recipe doesn’t call for cheese, but I was so low on my carb count for the day that I added a pinch (gasp!) of shredded cheddar cheese to each pepper. Yum!

I finished the plate off with a spoonful of mashed potatoes and a crescent roll. Gosh, I love crescent rolls…. I wanted nothing more than to eat the entire tin of them.

I DIDN’T.

 

Leave a Reply

