Slow Cooked BBQ Pork with Mango Slaw

Slow Cooked BBQ Pork w/Mango Slaw

This recipe probably has been my 4th variation of pulled pork since I got my slow cooker in June 2010.

That is insane, right?

Well I happen to be a great big fan of pulled pork sandwiches, so I am pretty pleased with myself.

This one has been the most different of any other recipe I’ve tried because it didn’t require adding water or soda. The first one I tried was delicious and the root beer made the pork sweet…. and anything I can smother in Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce is good in my book!! The other one I tried from Pioneer Woman was also FANTASTIC, only we used a tenderloin and didn’t add the chipotle peppers, because frankly I’m a wimp. I also didn’t have an onion on hand. Please don’t ask why, because I don’t know how that happened. The Dr. Pepper and brown sugar made up for it, though. I wanted to bathe in it.

This one, though. Something about this recipe made my heart sing. I just mostly think it was the combination of the ketchup, brown sugar, and the mustard. The onions also added a good level of flavor, so I probably will REMEMBER TO HAVE ONIONS IN MY PANTRY if I ever want to make PW’s variation again.

The mango slaw was also pretty good. I put in that dang cilantro, but no matter how much I tell myself “this time you will like it,” I never do. Ever. The mango and lime combo was heavenly though. It actually made me want a Mango snocone. Right now.

It’s pretty bad when a delicious fresh fruit makes you crave a cup filled with shaved ice, TONS of sugar and mango-flavored syrup.

This is my life.

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooked BBQ Pork with Mango Slaw

  1. Kerry, you’re the best :) Thank you!! Glad it was tasty!

  2. I’ve never made pulled pork before. In fact, I have very little experience with pork for that matter…except for bacon or prosciutto.

    I’d like to try this sometime ’cause it looks really good.

    I’d love to try your mango slaw. Did you make it like regular coleslaw…ya know…with mayo…but added some lime juice, diced mangoes, and cilantro? I’ll skip the cilantro…or maybe just add a teeny tiny amount. I like it but it give me heartburn real bad.

    Now if you’re craving a mango shaved ice, but want to skip all the sugar, try what I do. Put your fruit in a blender and puree it. In your case, puree some fresh mangoes. If you want, you can add a little sugar, but you can also skip it. Then freeze it in a plastic container with a lid. After it freezes up, take it out to thaw out, and when it’s at the perfect slushiness, pour it in a glass, insert a straw, and slurp! :) Well, that’s what I do anyway! :)

    • Ooooh you totally should. It was seriously delectable. This one, especially! It’s from CanYouStayForDinner.com

      And anything in a slow cooker just is that much easier!

      The mango slaw was really easy. I just cut up a mango, added some lime juice and a tsp of cilantro. I really don’t like cilantro in anything, but I know it adds flavor so I do it everytime. I always end up wishing I hadn’t, though. So feel free to leave it out.

      That slushie sounds WONDERFUL! I will have to do that.

Leave a Reply

